How To Apply For A Schengen Visa From Nigeria

European Schengen visa is the appropriate travel visa or rather an official visa that could be obtained from the Schengen 26 European countries consulate missions that is in charge of the Schengen Area where you are travelling to either from their locations in Lagos or Abuja Nigeria Embassies or Consulates.

The 26 European countries that make up the Schengen region are Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden and Switzerland. All the above listed countries are also members of the European Union (EU).


This visa can easily be applied for and obtained from Nigeria by following the necessary steps and providing the necessary requirements.

If you need to apply for Schengen visa please do not go to anybody for help instead you can always visit directly to the European embassy in Lagos or Abuja.

To start with, you must ensure that the fee for the Schengen visa application is ready and complete before you proceed to fill up the visa application form obtainable at the Embassy and then submit it to the embassy or the consulate office in charge of the visa you wish to travel to.

Get ready the necessary documents needed for the travel which should be always valid 90 days ahead of your departure.

The document type depends also on the part of Schengen you are travelling to, this may be checked at the official website of each country embassy, as to check the areas and their attached requirements while coming from Nigeria.

But there are common documentaries that are needed to apply for this Schengen visa and they include;

  • The documentary evidence that you can afford your travel and accommodation fee;
  • A textual that you need to return to your nationality or the permanent working place;
  • Another written formal letter for summoning or rather invitation either from private persons or business associates, hotel reservation and then guarantor's declaration and then medical indemnity that states repatriation expenses on medical grounds which is necessary in case a medical emergency situation calls. 

Having obtained the country's visa form from the country's embassy in Nigeria or downloaded it free online, you now proceed to the filling of the visa application form but before that make sure you get ready a current passport photograph in a dimension of 35×45mm then fill the form with correct and valid information in a more advanced pattern in order to acquire the visa you are requesting for.

The next step to take is submission; submit this form physically to the consulate centre either in Lagos or Abuja in person or in the Embassy online site, if they permits you to use this medium. Please don’t send it by email or by post office mail or otherwise to avoid getting lost. Also, properly attach the current passport photograph which will be valid through the time of your departure which is a period of 90 days.

After submission, wait for the time of collection of your Schengen visa, this visa will automatically be given to the applicant if they meet up to the requirement. He or she should not have any criminal records, otherwise the visa may not be granted for that reason.

Related Information:

How To Renew A Diplomatic Stay Visa In Nigeria

Nigeria like other countries of the world does issue a diplomatic stay visa to allow diplomats living in the country perform their lawful duties without any form of interference. Diplomats are government representatives on official duty in...

How To Obtain ECOWAS Passport In Nigeria

ECOWAS passport is a traveling document unanimously adopted by Economic Community of West African States in their efforts to promote the interstate integration of member state. This does not mean that ECOWAS as a body does issue...

How To Regularize Foreign Students Permit In Nigeria

It is no doubt a reality that there are lots of foreigners schooling in Nigeria; these foreign students did not just enter Nigeria to school; they must have obtained their entry permit /visa through Nigeria embassy...